For The Love Of You (Lovers Rock Covers)

Athens of The North has been on quite a roll these last few months with releases giving listeners of all sorts of genres something pleasing to the ears to listen to. After 3 tough sold out 12″ releases in the Lovers Rock territory at the end of 2019, it was only right that they provide a compilation LP with some rather rare sure shots to fill out crates with to make a well rounded balanced listening experience. For the Love of You is a 12 track compilation of lovers rock covers curated by Sam Don and overseen by Euan Fryer of AOTN.

Featuring amazing covers of tracks by artists such as Leon Ware, Mtume, Archie Bell, The Gap Band, Lowrell, Prince, Starvue, Bobby Caldwell & The Isley Brothers, there is not a filler in site, essentials all the way. The project has taken almost 2 years with the help of many musicians, singers and producers from the scene. A special shout out goes to Peter ‘Honeyvoice’ Hunnigale for going the extra mile and doing many introductions.