JJ Whitefield – Ethio Meditations / Drama Al Dente

When we first caught wind of the new library series being introduced under the Madlib Invasion Music series, our curiosity was extremely piqued but it wasn’t until we heard that the first volume in the series featured JJ Whitefield who is absolutely one of our favorite musicians that we got overly excited. Fast forward to the present and the debut LP from the the series has been a daily rotation since arriving in our box but how could it not be!? “Ethio Meditaitons / Drama Al Dente” checks all of the correct boxes in our love of library’esque music and exceeds exceptions.

Entry #1: JJ Whitefield (Poets of Rhythm/Whitefield Brothers/Karl Hector) takes on Ethiopian Jazz and Psychedelic Funk.

Madlib Invazion Music Library Series was created by Madlib and Egon to give their creative friends a chance to stretch out and indulge in whatever type of music they wanted. This music was created for easy, one-stop clearance in film and television synchronization usage and for sampling. Multi-track files are available upon request for key projects. You can also enjoy these albums in the way that many do with the best of the best vintage library catalogs – listen, ponder, repeat.

This is the first in a series of music library releases, with future volumes produced by DJ Muggs, J-Zone, and Karriem Riggins, among others. These will be released on the first Friday of each month beginning with JJ Whitefield’s Ethio Meditations / Drama Al Dente in June 2023.